WatchmenWatchmen is a twelve-issue comic-book series written by Alan Moore, illustrated by Dave Gibbons and originally published by DC Comics. It’s a classic and it remains the only graphic novel to win a Hugo Award for best science fiction or fantasy work.

Moore created Watchman in an effort to transcend the popular perception that comic books were something ‘juvenile’. He set out to take familiar old-fashioned superheroes into a completely new realm and did so by depicting them as real people struggling with neuroses and failings, confronting ethical and personal issues,  and who – with one notable exception – are lacking anything recognizable as super powers.

The series’ deconstruction of the conventional superhero archetype, combined with its innovative adaptation of cinematic techniques and heavy use of symbolism, multi-layered dialogue and metafiction has ensured its status as a seminal work in the comic-book field.



If you only ever read one comic-book make it this one. You won’t be disappointed.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s