Synchronicity

I am greatly intrigued by the potential for using an oracle to trigger one’s imaginings for solo play. It’s an idea that has stuck with me since I got my hands on Jonathan Tweet’s visionary Everway RPG, back in the mid 90s, and it’s been rekindled through recent exposure to similar mechanics in Bill White’s awesome Ganakagok RPG.

Oracles utilise the Human mind’s capacity to see patterns in seemingly random events. Runes are cast or cards are drawn and interpreted to give them meaning. It could work.

I’ve also started looking  into various aspects of personality modelling as I think game characters will need to be quantified by a set of personality traits. More on this as my research takes shape

Leave a Reply

