Adding to the Fiction

Following on from the end of my previous post, I wanted to record a few of the thoughts I’d had on the process (ritual) of adding to the fiction. I see it as going something like this:

1. Conception

One of the participants thinks of something they wish to have added to the shared fantasy e.g. I think my character is going to go to the tavern. At this point it’s kind of a protean diegetic element; a thought in the mind of an individual that is not yet part of any of the fantasies.

2. Invocation

The individual with the idea calls upon his fellow participants to accept the statement into the shared fantasy.

This stage of the process is often implied rather than explicit e.g. my character is going to the tavern … any objections? (the ‘any objections?’ not actually being spoken). Typically participants are familiar with the rules and understand what authority they have. They know what they are entitled to say without contradiction and don’t have to ask. Though occasionally another participant will still intervene and challenge the statement.

Also, some invocations take the form of a statement of intent and a request for resolution/arbitration e.g. my character is going to pick the lock would be likely to require a skill check.

3. Arbitration

An arbitration occurs to determine the outcome.

This may be a die roll, a contest, a negotiation or merely an imperceptable pause while everyone accepts that the player has the authority to introduce the statement into the shared fantasy. The outcome may be acceptance of the statement as it stands, a change to the statement or outright rejection of it.

4. Inclusion

The outcome is accepted and each of the individual participants (including the instigator) incorporates their interpretation of the outcome into their own fantasies.

4 thoughts on “Adding to the Fiction

  1. Adam Dray

    Just finally caught up with your blog. Cool stuff! Tommi, thanks for linking us up!

    I think your four steps map exactly to the four steps of resolution known in Big Model theory as IIEE (Intent, Initiation, Execution, Effect). I can point you to a bazillion Forge posts talking about this, and it’s sure to result in some new ideas for you.

    Reply
  2. Tumac Post author

    Hi Adam,

    Welcome and point away my friend

    I’d be quite interested as I’d taken IIEE to be to do with how the ‘Invocation’ (to use my terminology) was made. e.g. do I as a player state my character’s:
    1. Intent (allowing others to stop me before I start)
    2. Initiation (allowing others to intervene as I attempt to carry out the action)
    3. Execution (I’ve done it now but they can still affect the outcome)
    4. Effect (The whole shebang – but some rule systems allow this to be overturned or bargained for etc)

    Is this not the case? Does IIEE instead equate to steps in the player process of adding to the fiction?

    Anyone else who can answer this is welcome to chip in

    Reply

Leave a Reply

